• Categories

  • In the history of NBA, very few teams dominated the league consistently for  a long period of time. These teams are still respected and feared by others  because of their rich past. Let’s take a detailed look at all those teams that have enjoyed the dominance in different eras of the league history.

    Los Angeles Lakers (1980-1991)

    The Lakers of 1980s dubbed as “showtime” because of  the arrival of some flashy and stylish players such as Magic Johnson, Kareem Abdul Jabbar and James Worthy. With the contributions of these great players, the Lakers formed a dynasty and won 5 championship titles, 9 conference titles and 10 division titles from 1980 to 1991. The dynasty started to weakened by the end of the decade, with the retirement of key players and eventually collapsed.

    Los Angles Lakers (2000-2010)

    In the decade of 2000, the duo of  Kobe Bryant and Shaq O’Neal led the team back to the glory. They secured three championships back to back from 2000 to 2002. The team balance affected greatly when Shaquille O’Neal, Karl Malone and Gary Payton left the team prior to the 2005 season. As a consequence, the team  suffered a lean period for the next few years. Overall, they had 5 championships, 6 division titles and 7 conference titles from 2000 to 2010.

    Minneapolis Lakers (1949-1954)

    Before Los Angeles, the Lakers were located in Minneapolis and they developed a dynasty over there too. Minneapolis Lakers were, in fact, the first dynasty of NBA history. Led by Geaorge Mikan, Lakers won five championships in six seasons from 1949 through 1954.

    Boston Celtics (1957-1986)

    Boston Celtics dynasty is the biggest in the history of NBA, spanning over 30 years and  amassing 16 championship titles, including eight consective from 1959 to 1966. They captured 18 onference and 20 division titles as well. The dynasty got off to a start in 1957 and it was build around  some great players like Bill Sharman, Bob Cousy, Tom Heinsohn, Bill Russell, Frank Ramsey, K. C. Jones and John Havlicek. After the retirement of Bill Rusell in 1969, the dynasty started to fade. In the next 8 years, they won only two titles. They again peaked in 80s when Larry Bird, Robert Parish and Kevin McHale joined the team and won three more championships (1981, 1984, 1986).

    Chicago Bulls (1991-1998)

    Chicago Bulls dynasty was revolved around the trio of Michael Jordan, Scottie Pippen and coach Phil Jackson. The won 3 championships back to back from 1991 to 1993. They could have won few more if Michael Jordan had not been stepped down from NBA to pursue a career in baseball. In 1996, Jordan returned to the NBA and again led the Bulls to 3 consecutive championships. He was well supported by Dennis Rodman, Toni Kukoc and Steve Kerr.

    Related posts

    Comments are closed.