• Categories

  • NBA Most Improved Player award is given to a player who plays a single season much better than the previous one and actually takes his game to the next level. 

    A panel of sportswriters and broadcasters from United States and Canada determines the winner of the award. Often those players are taken into consideration who significantly improves in various statistical categories such as scoring, passing, shooting etc.

    Alvin Robertson was the first ever player to receive this award while, Ryan Anderson is the most recent recipient and the following list shows the names of all the players who were awarded NBA Most Improved Player.

    Year Player Team
    1985-86 Alvin Robertson San Antonio Spurs
    1986-87 Dale Ellis Seattle SuperSonics
    1987-88 Kevin Duckworth Portland Trail Blazers
    1988-89 Kevin Johnson Phoenix Suns
    1989-90 Rony Seikaly Miami Heat
    1990-91 Scott Skiles Orlando Magic
    1991-92 Pervis Ellison Washington Bullets
    1992-93 Mahmoud Abdul-Rauf Denver Nuggets
    1993-94 Don MacLean Washington Bullets
    1994-95 Dana Barros Philadelphia 76ers
    1995-96 Gheorghe Muresan Washington Bullets
    1996-97 Isaac Austin Miami Heat
    1997-98 Alan Henderson Atlanta Hawks
    1998-99 Darrell Armstrong Orlando Magic
    1999-00 Jalen Rose Indiana Pacers
    2000-01 Tracy McGrady Orlando Magic
    2001-02 Jermaine O’Neal Indiana Pacers
    2002-03 Gilbert Arenas Golden State Warriors
    2003-04 Zach Randolph Portland Trail Blazers
    2004-05 Bobby Simmons Los Angeles Clippers
    2005-06 Boris Diaw Phoenix Suns
    2006-07 Monta Ellis Golden State Warriors
    2007-08 Hedo Turkoglu Orlando Magic
    2008-09 Danny Granger Indiana Pacers
    2009-10 Aaron Brooks Houston Rockets
    2010-11 Kevin Love Minnesota Timberwolves
    2011-12 Ryan Anderson Orlando Magic

    Related posts

    Comments are closed.