• Categories

  • Relocated NBA Teams

    by admin in NBA | Comments Off

    Throughout the history of NBA, many teams have changed their locations and after relocating themselves, they had to change their name and sometimes nickname as well. Here is a list of all those NBA teams who have been relocated to other cities.

    Atlanta Hawks

    Buffalo Bisons (1946)

    Tri-Cities Blackhawks (1946-51)

    Milwaukee Hawks (1951-55)

    St. Louis Hawks (1955-68)

    Atlanta Hawks (1968-present)

    Detroit Pistons

    Fort Wayne Pistons (1941-57)

    Detroit Pistons (1957-present)

    Golden State Warriors

    Philadelphia Warriors (1946-62)

    San Francisco Warriors (1962-71)

    Golden State Warriors (1971-present)

    Houston Rockets

    San Diego Rockets (1967-71)

    Houston Rockets (1971-present)

    Los Angeles Clippers

    Buffalo Braves (1970-78)

    San Diego Clippers (1978-84)

    Los Angeles Clippers (1984-present)

    Los Angeles Lakers

    Detroit Gems (1946-47)

    Minneapolis Lakers (1947-60)

    Los Angeles Lakers (1960-present)

    Memphis Grizzlies

    Vancouver Grizzlies (1995-01)

    Memphis Grizzlies (2001-present)

    Brooklyn Nets

    New Jersey Americans (1967-1968)

    New York Nets (1968-77)

    New Jersey Nets (1977-2012)

    Brooklyn Nets (2012-present)

    New Orleans Hornets

    Charlotte Hornets (1988-2002)

    New Orleans Hornets (2002-13)

    (franchise will be called New Orleans Pelicans from 2013-14 season as they have decided to change their nickname)

    Oklahoma City Thunder

    Seattle SuperSonics (1967-2008)

    Oklahoma City Thunder (2008-present)

    Philadelphia 76ers

    Syracuse Nationals (1946-63)

    Philadelphia 76ers (1963-present)

    Sacramento Kings

    Rochester Royals (1945-57)

    Cincinnati Royals (1957-72)

    Kansas City-Omaha Kings (1972-75)

    Kansas City Kings (1975-85)

    Sacramento Kings (1985-present)

    San Antonio Spurs

    Dallas Chaparrals (1967-73)

    (team was called Dallas Chaparrals from 1967 to 1973 except 1070-71 season when they played their games in Texas and named Texas Chaparrals)

    San Antonio Spurs (1973-present)

    Utah Jazz

    New Orleans Jazz (1974-79)

    Utah Jazz (1979-present)

    Washington Wizards

    Chicago Packers (1961-62)

    Chicago Zephyrs (1962-63)

    Baltimore Bullets (1963-73)

    Capital Bullets (1973-74)

    Washington Bullets (1974-97)

    Washington Wizards (1997-present)

    Some of the teams never moved and remained in their original cities.

    Boston Celtics

    Boston Celtics (1946- present)

    Charlotte Bobcats

    Charlotte Bobcats (2004-present)

    Chicago Bulls

    Chicago Bulls (1966-present)

    Cleveland Cavaliers

    Cleveland Cavaliers (1970-present)

    Dallas Mavericks

    Dallas Mavericks (1980-present)

    Indiana Pacers

    Indiana Pacers (1967-present)

    Miami Heat

    Miami Heat (1988-present)

    Milwaukee Bucks

    Milwaukee Bucks (1968-present)

    Minnesota Timberwolves

    Minnesota Timberwolves (1989-present)

    New York Knicks

    New York Knicks (1946-present)

    Orlando Magic

    Orlando magic (1989-present)

    Phoenix Suns

    Phoenix Suns (1968-present)

    Portland Trail Blazers

    Portland Trail Blazers (1970-present)

    Denver Nuggets

    Denver Rockets (1967-74)

    Denver Nuggets (1974-present)

    (Denver Nuggets was renamed when they entered NBA but never changed their location)

    Toronto Raptors

    Toronto Raptors (1995-present)

    Related posts

    Tags: , ,

    Comments are closed.