• Categories

  • The award of Most Outstanding Player is given to the best player of the final fours. Associated Press decides the winner of the award and reveals the name at the end of the tournament. Jimmy Hull, of Ohio State was named the first MOP in 1939 while Kentucky’s Anthony Davis is the latest winner of this award. Below, we have listed all those players who received the MOP Award.

    Year Player Team
    1939 Jimmy Hull Ohio State
    1940 Marvin Huffman Indiana
    1941 John Kotz Wiscosin
    1942 Howie Dallmar Stanford
    1943 Ken Sailors Wyoming
    1944 Arnie Ferrin Utah
    1945 Bob Kurland Oklahoma State
    1946 Bob Kurland Oklahoma State
    1947 George Kaftan Holy Cross
    1948 Alex Groza Kentucky
    1949 Alex Groza Kentucky
    1950 Irwin Dambrot CCNY
    1951 Bill Spivey Kentucky
    1952 Clyde Lovellette Kansas
    1953 B. H. Born Kansas
    1954 Tom Gola La Salle
    1955 Bill Russell San Francisco
    1956 Hal Lear Temple
    1957 Wilt Chamberlain Kansas
    1958 Elgin Baylor Seattle
    1959 Jerry West West Virginia
    1960 Jerry Lucas Ohio State
    1961 Jerry Lucas Ohio State
    1962 Paul Hogue Cincinnati
    1963 Art Heyman Duke
    1964 Walt Hazzard UCLA
    1965 Bill Bradley Princeton                   
    1966 Jerry Chambers Utah
    1967 Lew Alcindor UCLA
    1968 Lew Alcindor UCLA
    1969 Lew Alcindor UCLA
    1970 Sidney Wicks UCLA
    1971  none
    1972 Bill Walton UCLA
    1973 Bill Walton UCLA
    1974 David Thompson North Carolina State
    1975 Richard Washington UCLA
    1976 Kent Benson Indiana
    1977 Butch Lee Marquette
    1978 Jack Givens Kentucky
    1979 Earvin Johnson Michigan State
    1980 Darrell Griffith Louisville
    1981 Isiah Thomas Indiana
    1982 James Worthy North Carolina                      
    1983 Hakeem Olajuwon Houston
    1984 Patrick Ewing Georgetown
    1985 Ed Pinckney Villanova
    1986 Pervis Ellison Louisville
    1987 Keith Smart Indiana
    1988 Danny Manning Kansas
    1989 Glen Rice Michigan
    1990 Anderson Hunt UNLV
    1991 Christian Laettner Duke
    1992 Bobby Hurley Duke
    1993 Donald Williams North Carolina
    1994 Corliss Williamson Arkansas
    1995 ED O’Bannon UCLA
    1996 Tony Delk Kentucky
    1997 Miles Simon Arizona
    1998 Jeff Sheppard Kentucky
    1999 Richard Hamilton Connecticut
    2000 Mateen Cleaves Michigan State
    2001 Shane Battier Duke
    2002 Juan Dixon Maryland
    2003 Carmelo Anthony Syracuse
    2004 Emeka Okafor Connecticut
    2005 Sean May North Carolina
    2006 Joakim Noah Florida
    2007 Corey Brewer Florida
    2008 Mario Chalmers Kansas
    2009 Wayne Ellington North Carolina
    2010 Kyle Singler Duke
    2011 Kemba Walker Connecticut
    2012 Anthony Davis Kentucky

    Related posts

    Comments are closed.